Day 63 Off Protopic

9 weeks off Protopic or 2 months done! However you want to put it. Haha I am entering my third month of TSW (topical steroid withdrawal)/Protopic withdrawal and at the moment things are okay. The last couple days I have not been as flaky on my body. I am still really dry, but the flakiness seems a bit better. My face has been pretty flaky the last few days though. Also I think my neck has healed a bit. I can scratch and although it does still weep, it does not weep as easily as it did a few weeks ago, and it just feels smoother, although it is still very tight by the end of the day. My boyfriend called me a robot one night because I couldn’t move my neck at all. Lol I have had two people tell me yesterday that I look better. I have to say that gave me a confidence boost even if I don’t feel it that much. My legs at the moment are very red and swollen. Lots of scratch marks on them, but behind the knees which have been very flaky the last few weeks are currently smooth. It could also be that I have been very careful to file my nails right down so I can’t do too much damage, but I just hope that it’s my body healing. I do realize that I can still flare again, I just hope if I do that it won’t be as bad as my first month. I think I would lose my mind. When I started this whole process I honestly thought I would be healed by three months! Lol I now realize how unrealistic that is. I am sure it will take me at least a year to be fully healed, possibly longer but I hope not!  I don’t think my ears are weeping much this week either which is nice. That was really gross, having them stick to my pillow. Ugh. My arms are looking much better. I have lost a lot of hair on them though (which is fine by me ha!) but my hands have been crummy. There is a split on one of my palms that keeps trying to open up. It hurts! So I have to keep it moist all day long. I am still cold. I shiver all day long. That’s about six weeks of shivering pretty much all day, every day! I will be so glad when this part goes. I try to wear layers and drink lots of hot things. At home I just sit on the couch under a blanket all day/night. At work I have a big sweater and keep drinking hot chocolate or even just hot water.

Anyway I just want to thank God! I know He is healing me even though it is excruciatingly slow. I have pled to Him many times over the last few weeks to ‘just please heal me’ and to ‘heal me faster’. I do believe He just wants me to be patient and trust Him. This is a lesson to be learned. Take better care of my body for one! I only get one body in this life and it sucks to be so miserable in it! I have decided once I am healed to switch over to all natural creams and make up and shampoo. I won’t switch now as I haven’t been wearing much make up and don’t want my skin to react to anything. So I will wait till I’m more healed. I also believe He is teaching me to trust Him more! I keep saying I trust Him, but I actually have to trust He is healing me! I have to stop doubting Him. I TRUST YOU LORD, I DO!!!! I have to put my full faith in Him. I need to lean completely on Him! Going through this has made me realize how much I do truly need Him. I have been making an effort to read my Bible every day (although I forgot yesterday, oops.) and to spend time with him every day. He is an AMAZING God and deserves our COMPLETE devotion. He deserves all of me and that is all I can really give him even though it is not enough! I know I am truly blessed even though I am going through this and one day once I am healed I will be able to look back on it as just a trial and that He brought me through it and that it made me closer to God. 

2 thoughts on “Day 63 Off Protopic

  1. Hi. I just stumbled upon your blog and I’m so glad I did. Thanks for continuing this. I’m so glad you’re better. This post made me cry. Like you, I’m trying to trust in God and see it as a positive. I’m in my 3rd month and I have good mental days and bad. Skin is mostly bad but healing slowly but surely. Thanks again. Will be reading all your posts. God bless you!

    • Thank you so much for your kind comments. I know the early days are so hard, but I promise once you get to where I am it is so worth it! Hang in there! If you have any questions please let me know.

Leave a Reply

