309 Days Protopic Withdrawal – Another Flare…

I am just a few days into my 10th month and I think I must be flaring again. It has been this way for about a week or two now, but I was not really sure what was going on since it nothing near as bad as my first flare, but definitely worse than I had been. The symptoms are very manageable, but here they are…

-Constant leaky watery eyes

-Occasionally puffier eyes

-Dyer skin on my face

-Trouble sleeping again

-Hands have more blisters on them

-Neck is more flaky and oozes a bit when scratched too much. Having to vacuum the bed again each morning only because my neck is flaking so much each night. No other body part is really flaking that much.

-Neck is more sore at night, so back to taking Ibuprofen to help with the pain. (I didn’t need to take it for a few months)

Yesterday was HOT. After work I thought I would treat myself and my boyfriend and get us some ice cream from Dairy Queen. So I got us some blizzards. Ate it around 9:45 pm and by 10:15 I was starting to get itchy. I tore open the skin on my left arm crook a bit and then scratched my neck like crazy. It was that awful feeling that I could not stop scratching. I gobbled down some Benadryl and hopped in the shower. That helped ease the scratching and I felt better when I got out, but it soon started up again. I had trouble sleeping, as I have been for the last few weeks.

I initially thought my scratch fest last night was maybe an allergic reaction to the ice cream. I have been lactose intolerant in the past. But it could also be just part of this flare. Who knows…

Anyway’s that’s about it. This flare is not too bad. I suppose it could be called a mini flare? But it’s definitely annoying. Its been going on a week or two now, so hopefully it will clear up soon. Maybe this is my year flare? From what I have read people get them anywhere from 10-13 months. Ha! Hopeful wishing right. 😉

I just wanted to add a bit of happy news. I popped back to ITSAN yesterday and lo and behold a member who is also withdrawing mainly from Protopic had added an update. She was the one who made realize I was really going through withdrawal from the Protopic. Anyhow, she is now 2 years along and says she is about 90-95% healed! How wonderful! That definitely gave me a lift! I cannot wait to be there!

Hope you all are doing okay! Keep telling yourselves we will heal!

Leave a Reply

