14 Months Off Protopic

Not a whole lot of changes to report this month. Everything has been pretty much status quo. The flaking is very minimal. Last week my neck was feeling rough for a few days and then one morning I woke up to it being a bit flaky. I rubbed it off in the shower and it has been smooth since. Still dry, but barely flaky. Itching is minimal as well. I have maybe three or four episodes a day, but they are very short lasting, and I sometimes wonder if it just starts out of me habitually scratching my neck (still my itchiest spot). I will have to try to keep a closer eye on it. I used to scratch sooo much before bed, but now I go quite a few nights a week with barely any scratching in bed. It is sooo nice. I am still a bit red. It varies day to day, but I do think it is getting better. More pinky in color rather than bright red. My legs are still scabby. They seem to take forever to heal, but could be cause I have trouble not picking it. UGH. Bad habits I tell ya. Sleep has been decent. My hair has been falling out again a bit. I am not too worried about it yet, but hopefully it wonโ€™t last long.

One positive to report is that just this morning actually, I noticed on my right hand, that the skin splits, which had been open, split, and oozy for MONTHS, are closed up!!!!! The last two days I have been doing a strict no dairy diet, so I wonder if it is related to that? My last allergy test did show I was allergic to dairy and I have been eating basically whatever I wanted to for months, so I guess we will see. J It could just be a fluke though. So hard to tell.

It has been cooling down here now and the air is getting drier. I hope it wonโ€™t affect my skin too much.

Hope you are all doing okay. On to month 15!

3 thoughts on “14 Months Off Protopic

  1. Hi there! I’m in my 10th month of my protopic withdrawal and having my second flare since november. I’m curious how are you doing now?

    • Hi! I think I need to do a new update! lol Sorry you are having another flare. That is crummy. I flared really bad about that time too. I am about a week away from my 16 month anniversary and I am doing really well! Hardly any itching! A little dry, but nothing as bad as it was, and hardly any flaking ๐Ÿ™‚ No oozing either. It will get better! Hang in there ๐Ÿ™‚ I will do a full update soon!

Leave a Reply

